Forums are back in action! ×

finding new friends?

So I'm sure there are posts similar to this out there. But, as you've become more fitness-centered, have you realized that your friendships changed?

Now, I've always been into fitness/working out/being "healthy" or whatever. My main group of friends know that. Heck I worked as a trainer for a while. But since I started really getting more serious about it (CrossFit/paleo), I feel like my friends and I have drifted apart.

Sidenote: I did also get married 6 months ago. BUT, I feel like I am constantly the one trying to get people together, planning outings, etc. But either people are just THAT busy, or something is changing. It's kind of disgouraging, because I mean, who doesnt' like to have friends?

I've tried forming bonds with the ladies at my CrossFit box. And while I'm definitely becoming friends with them, they've all known each other longer and I'm not really "in" their "group" yet. Or something. Maybe I'm just being too sensitive.

Anyone have anything similar happen? How did you handle it?

Edit: I also wanted to mention that I've been "hanging out" online a lot more - to connect with people here and on Instagram (I have made "friends" on there; it's weird). My husband doesn't get it, and I've realized that I have been having more bonds with people over the internet than I do with my friends in real life. It kind of makes me sad, but everyone has that emotional need for human connection right? So if I'm not getting it in person (besides from my husband; he's great), why not get it online?? I'd rather have both though...

Guest Snake McClain