Forums are back in action! ×

Student Loans: advice

i'm just starting to repay my student loans. Apart from how upsetting I consider the whole idea of student loans (I don't know about you all, but when i went to college way back in 1996 I feel like it was a sort of predatory situation in which i got ripped off a lot) I'm struggling to find good tactics for making this less painful and faster. Anyone have any really good financial tips for clearing out that student loan debt?

Level 3 Human Ranger
STR: 9 DEX: 5.25 STA: 14.5 CON: 5.5 WIS: 16 CHA: 5.5 
My Current Challenge

Because my credit was actually better when I graduated, my consolidation actually brought by interest rate down, so do that if it is to your benefit. If not, pay off the highest rate first and work your way down, even if the highest rate loan is the largest. My wife and I have 4-5 between us and this is how we're doing it. You'll pay the least in the long run. If by some miracle some loan interest rates are lower than your mortgage (if you have one), pay the mortgage down first. It's just another loan.

This is not to say "don't have a savings, pay loans down with all your extra money". Don't do that. Pay the minimum on your loans and first build up an emergency fund to pay your bills if something happens. I see 6-8 months touted a lot, but I think it's a bit much. I tend to aim for 3-4 months of emergency funds. Shit happens, I recently had to put over a grand into my car for example. Once you have that, then put the extra money toward the loans or replenishing the emergency funds if some has to be used. Always have a set minimum in your emergency fund (3-4 months of bills in my opinion).