Forums are back in action! ×

Any Linux Users out here?

leadchipmunk

Ubuntu 12.04 LTS a.k.a. Precise Pangolin just came out yesterday. I think it is about time to wipe my system and see how they have improved Unity. I've been running Kubuntu for a few months now and am probably going to switch back to it, though the new version, when I'm done playing, but who knows I might just start liking Unity again. Especially for my netbook.

So, who here uses Linux and what distro(s) do you use?

I've used pretty much all of them I've gotten my hands on at one point or another, over the past 6 or so months, I would switch it up at least once every two weeks. Never found anything to settle on until I really started using kde4. Currently I run just Kubuntu on my main laptop, and tried getting Android-x86 on my netbook but never could get it working well enough for me. Might try again if I get the chance to get a touchscreen installed on it. I also keep Lucid Puppy, Backtrack 5r1 and Ubuntu 10.04 on a thumbdrive for fixing broken systems at work.

And at work, I have an approximately 50GB folder on the network that is filled with nothing but Linux distro .iso's.

Level 1 Woodwose

STR 5 | DEX 2 | STA 1 | CON 2 | WIS 5 | CHA 4

WAR 0 | RNG 0 | SCT 0 | ASN 0 | MON 0 | DRU 0 | ADV 1

Current Challenge: Specialization is for Insects

Previous Chapters: 1

I split my time between OS X and Ubuntu. It always used to be that I'd have a reasonably powerful desktop running Ubuntu for serious desk use and an Apple laptop for web browsing on the sofa/ recording music.

Somewhat sadly my Ubuntu desktop has fallen well behind my Macbook in terms of speed by most measures and is now rarely used. I've been meaning to bring the desktop up to date for quite a while but I never quite seem to find the cash. It's a shame, I miss using Linux, maybe the release of 12.04 will be motivation to get me back on it.