Forums are back in action! ×

Hello! Transition from being a runner

Hi everyone! I am new here (obviously).

I am a vision scientist, working towards a PhD in the field of cognitive science. I am currently studying how people look for things, as in "how do radiologists find tumors in x-ray images?" or "How do I find Waldo?"

For recreation I draw, paint, exercise, and read. And I am an on-again-off-again gamer. I also enjoy doing different or unusual things (for example, within the last year or two I spent an hour and a half in a sensory deprivation tank, visited several cults, and flew a plane).

I once lost over 100 lbs, and have kept it off to this day.

I had been distance running, and got as far as a half-marathon. Soon after that, though, I injured both my knees (chondromalacia). Currently, two years later, I'm in my second round of physical therapy and am effectively giving up distance running.

So, I'm transitioning into finding a new healthy lifestyle. Since I stopped running, I gained a bunch of weight, and became significantly less fit (I had also stopped doing every other kind of exercise).

My current fitness goals (and shorter-term subgoals) are:

- Be able to walk up stairs without pain

- Finish this round of physical therapy

- WALK a marathon

- Walk a half-marathon

- Walk a 10k

- Walk a 5k

- Slowly build up my walking distances (this week goal: 3 mi / crosstrain-biking / 3 mi / rest / 3 mi / 4 mi / crosstrain-biking)

- Get my bicycle fixed (currently I am on a borrowed bike)

- Develop a flexibility fitness plan (possibly incorporating yoga and/or tai chi)

- Develop a resistance training plan (using mostly free weights and body weight)

- Get (and maintain) six pack abs

- Lose 19 lbs (to reach my "ideal weight")

- Join a gym for the sole purpose of having one (or more) personal trainer sessions, so that I can learn proper form to all activities on my plan