Forums are back in action! ×

Nerd #12916 signing in

Hey, everyone. I assume I'm the 12,916th person to register here (which is awesome!) due to my profile URL. :)

I'm a 29 year-old dude, married to the lovely marybelle, and I have always been a nerd. My preferred nerdy hobbies are probably wargames (particularly Warmachine/Hordes), board games (Neuroshima Hex!) and card games (started with Magic, but I'm also a fan of Dominion, Ascension, and looking to try the LotR card game). I also play a fair bit of PC games (Blizzard's trinity and Portal lately).

As for the fitness side of Nerd Fitness, I was a couch potato for most of my life. Whenever I could get away with it, I'd sit on the bleachers in PE with my friends and either play games or talk about games. I dreaded the yearly mile run for the fitness test and wound up just walking it fairly often. This lifestyle suited me until I graduated college. Then, for reasons still unknown to me, I decided I wanted to do something to get in shape. In hindsight, it's probably because I had graduated college and wasn't happy with my job, so I wanted to see improvement somewhere. I decided to run. With the help of resources on another large forum, I managed to stumble my way across the awesome Couch to 5k plan and, after a few repeated weeks, complete it. In this time, I read Born to Run and the concept of minimalistic running really clicked with me, so I snagged a pair of VFF KSOs as my first running shoe. To celebrate completing the program, I signed up for a local 5k, not realizing it was a mountain trail around a lake. Man, those hills were brutal compared to my relatively flat street that I trained on. But I managed to do it!