Forums are back in action! ×

sick of being embarrassed of my body :(

Hi my name is Jen and the title says it all! I'm 20 years old, 5'2 and about 125 pounds. I am constantly depressed and sad about my body. It's not that I weigh a lot, I'm just very short and stocky. 

I am a full time student who used to be a gymnast of ten years. In fact I did gymnastics with olympian Jordan Weiber. I used to be so crazy in shape I can't believe I have bulging thighs and stomach fat.

I love researching about nutrition but it doesn't mean I always tend to eat the right things (I'm obsessed with chocolate!) I know I should work out harder and I have started taking more classes but I find it hard to balance college lifestyle and eating well. 

I have dreams of being a circus performer, specifically doing Aerial Gymnastics (their arms got nothing on michelle obamas!)

Anywho I'm looking for all the support I can get, especially from younger people on here, but whoever it will be hit me up! If I get some replies I'll add a picture.

Hey! Good luck! I'm pretty young myself (24) and I just got out of college last year. I know how hard deciding to study or work out is - a lot of times I tried to combine the two (like reading notes while walking uphill on a treadmill, which I figured wasn't as good as running, but the incline worked different muscles..) but it was still really difficult. Making the choice to study or work out can be hard. 

The best thing that worked for me was to add exercising into study or homework sessions - I mean sometimes when you're trying to study your brain kind of goes numb anyways. So when I would notice that happening I'd get up and try to move around my apartment for a while - with squats, lunges, anything that I didn't need equipment for. Then once my heart rate was up and I felt more clear-headed I'd go back to studying. Kept me from feeling too burned out on either, and Id get a lot done.