Forums are back in action! ×

Comrades! Hello!

Hi, folks!

I've been putzing around reading the blog for about a week now, and have finally decided to join up. 

I'm a 22-year-old University student, female, 5' 1/4" (yes, a quarter-inch - when you're my size, every bit counts!) and I'm coming in at 155lbs. So you can be sure I'm not happy about that.

I've always been moderately active - played school and club volleyball through junior high and was fairly active when I was "younger". But since high school and University, I've been steadily packing on weight. Two years ago, I decided I had had enough and started working out with my dad in the mornings, I signed up for boot camp one summer and I got back into karate (which I still do today) - I went down to 140, but then I bounced back up come the next school year and all the fun that comes with that.

However, recently I've found that I'm dissatisfied with my speed and power in karate (I'm a 3rd kyu brown belt in Goju Ryu). I had looked into various bodyweight exercises and done some fitness programs here and again, but always found excuses to say "oh, but I have an exam/case study/thing". But no more! Reading Joe, Staci and Athena's stories (and all the other success stories out there) have convinced me that I can do this and I've decided that I will do this. Today. And tomorrow and everyday.

I've made myself a (perhaps overzealous) training program that involves the BBW workout on Tues, Thurs, Sat and interval training on Mon, Wed, Fri. I'm sure I can pull off the BBW days because two of them (Tues, Sat) coincide with my karate days and I can either tack them on at the beginning or the end (or if I'm lucky, lead the club in a warm up and get them all to do BBW), but the intervals will give me more trouble.

My goals and action plans are:

• Do BBW 3x a week
    • Wake up early on Tues, Thurs to do Bodyweight (will have to time and see how long it takes - estimating 40mins incl warm up and stretch)