Forums are back in action! ×

I'm getting too old for this sh**!

...is what I find myself saying more and more. I never believed it would happen, but I started slowing down when I reached my 50's -  eating worse, drinking more, exercising less -  and now I'm starting to get soft around the middle. I've been working out regularly for 14-15 years (ever since my daughter reached dating age) but every year I seem to cut back more and more. I no longer lift weights at all. I need a kick in the butt and that's what I hope this challenge will do.

About me:  I'm 56, 5'7, 180#. OK, just bought a new scale - the old digital one was getting a little hinky - new starting weight 190# hahaha...  sigh.

Married 35 years, 2 adult children; I backpack with my daughter, and my son and I run (race).  My current "protocol" is run 3x/week, ruck 3x/week and do a Convict Conditioning/Pavel Tsatsouline type pushup/pullup/squat routine daily.  Challenge goals to follow (man, it's tough to quantify them, right?)

Oops, forgot my "nerd creds": Big  Adventure Time fan, and I fought in the SCA for years before my wife made me quit :numbness:

The past is only smoke in a dream.

Lvl 6 Ranger Berzerker

STR 9 DEX 4 STA 9 CON 8 WIS 2 CHA 8

Barfly ain't even tryin'...

Hey man, I'm sure you can find the motivation here. Hell, you're already doing better than a lot of people younger than you! I'm about to hit 30 this August and I'm already almost 30lbs over my recommended weight. I wish you the best with your challenge and I'm sure that you can stay motivated and see your challenge through!

Btw, love the avatar.  :playful: