Forums are back in action! ×

Can't wait to begin

Hi everyone,

My name is Steve, but my friends call me Stig (hence the forum handle). This was my mother's pet name for me when I was younger as she said that my bedroom was always a pig sty and used to call me Stig of the Dump!

Apologies first of all to the guild leaders and mods as I got a little carried away with myself, posting my first 6-week challenge here...

http://rebellion.nerdfitness.com/index.php?/topic/48238-1-challenge-for-the-stig/

... unfortunately my eyes saw the new challenge from 14th and my brain associated that with May rather than April so I seem to have jumped the gun.

So what is my story?

I have been on and off a high protein, low carb, low sugar diet for a number months now but cannot seem to stick to it.

I am a soccer referee in the UK so during the season officiate on at least 2 games per week (usually on a weekend). I have 2 dogs that I take out for walks for a minimum of 30 minutes per day (sometimes longer) either in a morning or on an evening after work. My girlfriend does the opposing walk.

I am 6' 6" tall and weigh 14st 9lbs (205 lbs in US) and my target weight is 13st 7lbs (189 lbs). It is my hope that this will assist me to move at ease around the soccer field and assist with injury prevention.

Having read a lot of the information on here, I am going to have a go at the Paleo Diet. I work (sat on my backside) for 8 hours a day, so movement is limited.

That being said, I now use a 95cm gym ball as a chair, park my car a short walk away and try and take a 30 minute round trip walk for lunch.

I am not signed up to a monthly subscription to a gym, but I do have pay-as-you-go access. I would really like to hit the free-weights but I don't have any idea how to use them correctly or what to do, and I am a little worried about going to the gym and embarrassing myself by using them incorrectly.

So to summarise: