Forums are back in action! ×

Decent CHA score, could use more STR & CON

I'm a 25 y/o professional living in Seattle, WA. My first character in DnD was a Human Bard with a penchant for getting our party nearly killed with my failed diplomacy checks. (back in the days of AD&D 2nd edition, checks were much harder than these newfangled systems.  :playful: )

My Story

While I've been quite fortunate in my professional life, I've often prioritized that piece of my life over my personal health. I have a demanding job that frequently requires 10-12hr days and a fair number of weekends, all of this usually spent sitting at a desk. Additionally my job is 70 miles from where I live so I typically spend about 2.5-3hrs in the car each day.

With all that time spent commuting or at work I rarely make time to cook a decent meal for myself, tending frequently to eat out and not really ever taking into account what I'm actually putting into my body. The only time I've had success in eating decently is when I set aside time over the weekend to plan/cook my next week's meals so I don't worry about it during the work week.

And finally, I've struggled with a physical challenge as I was diagnosed at 18 with Dysplastic Trochlea in both knees, and while I've had surgery on one knee (which was only a temporary fix), I have avoided dealing with the situation for far too long.

I'm 6'5 and weigh about 215lbs. The extra weight is particularly painful on my knees.

Why I'm Here

Most men in my family struggle with their weight and some various health issues, and I can see that at 25 I am headed toward similar challenges. I plan on having a family someday and I want to live a long and active life that I can share with them. So my goal is to get "fit." Which for me is going to mean losing some body fat, adding some muscle and most importantly making a structural change in my diet.