Forums are back in action! ×

Hi everybody!

I'm a slightly overweight college student looking for motivation to be more healthy, but I don't really know where to start. My sleep schedule is entirely FUBAR, my eating habits are questionable at best, and the idea of going to a gym with other people to exercise sets off all my DO NOT WANT social anxiety issues.

Speaking of: is there anyone who can give me advice on exercise as part of treatment for anxiety and/or depression?

Thanks!

Newbie Hobbit 

Battle Log | Challenge: The Hobbit-Hole Rebellion

{she/her/hers pronouns, please}

"Life isn't about finding yourself. Life is about CREATING yourself.

{to find is to come upon something either accidentally or by effort, but to create is to bring into existence or produce by sheer will}" --Unknown

Hobbiton to Rivendell: 8.5mi of 458mi

1.9%
1.9%

Walking to Mordor {1779mi}:

0.5%
0.5%

Hello!!  We can certainly work on setting healthy habits without making you go to the gym!!  Although, I might ask you to think about sports and other non-traditional ways of moving  that are good exercise.  If you're having fun, you may not experience anxiety.

Exercise is absolutely a good part of a treatment plan for anxiety and depression.  Even moderate walking (especially outside) has been shown to help sufferers of depression. But whatever will get your endorphins flowing will work.   We have a whole support group here for people who battle depression (and related issues) - it's the Black Dog Tamers. 

BUT ... before I give you the link to the BDT ... right now we have someone who is struggling a lot.  It's a potential triggering situation if you are also feeling down right now.  So if you're depressed, come back and see us in a day or so and send me a message (envelope in the upper right).  Link to the group is here.

Level 63 Human ... Oath of Ancients Paladin