Forums are back in action! ×

I want to be able to climb stairs without wheezing...

Hi everyone! I decided I need to get in shape just to have somewhere to take out stress. I'm a third year law student and have been putting off getting in shape for the last several years because I am always tired and have too much work to get done to make it to the gym. I thought I was doing okay because no one would call me fat, but the law library is on the third floor up very steep staircases. I realized that when I get up there I can't just start studying or get the book I need - I actually have to sit down and catch my breath.

I admit, I have been too intimidated to go to the gym since I wear out so fast and am not at all sure what I am doing... But my goal is to be able to get up those stairs by this semester's reading week without gasping or needing a break when I get to the top.

My classmates are all either marathon runners already or have no interest in changing habits, so I thought it would be helpful to be somewhere that other folks are working to start taking care of themselves.

Do you have a way to make your work portable or afford a treadmill? How big is your home? Basically, I'm thinking constant low-grade exercise. Even if you can reserve a windowless conference room and walk around the table as you're studying, it should help with the sit-ery.

Otherwise, slow down on the stairs and have it be about strength rather than speed.

You should get better advise within a day or so. :)

I have conditions that affect my social awareness.  If I am rude, tell me what I could do better.

5'8" & 220 260 pounds | Miles Walked: X

2019: | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Pre 2017: | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | * | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 |