Forums are back in action! ×

Best Alternative to Squats?

britchenhauer

Hey all, I've been doing Stronglifts 5x5 for about two months, and I have a confession: I hate squats.

I hate everything about them: the way the bar feels on my back, the way the motion feels, the way I alway seem to have some pain somewhere when I do them, etc. I know you're probably going to say I don't have proper form, which is a possibility I won't deny, though I've read Starting Strength and have been trying to get my form right for two months, and as a poor college student with no access to a trainer, I don't really have any more options.

What is the best alternative to squats? I know squats are ideal, but I am finding myself dreading going to work out purely because of them and I'd much rather have a longer/slightly-less-than-ideal workout than one I hate doing. I've also been seeing muscle gain from them even though I've stalled on the weight a ton (I've been on 75lbs for almost a month), and, I have to say, my ass looks great (haha, sorry, it's just one of the things I've noticed most), so is there a way to keep gaining muscle without squats?

Thank you!

Try highbar squats, like msuroo said, you may like it more. You can even do front squats, but know that they hit the front (anterior i.e. quads) of the legs much more than either of the back squats do and hit the back (posterior) much less. If you do switch to them, make sure you are doing deadlifts as well since they work the posterior chain of muscles like the hamstrings and the glutes (butt), especially since you seem to like the results back there.

Massrandir, Barkûn, Swolórin, The Whey Pilgrim
500 / 330 / 625
Challenges: 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 31 32 34 35 36 39 41 42 45 46 47 48 49 Current Challenge
"No citizen has a right to be an amateur in the matter of physical training. What a disgrace it is for a man to grow old without ever seeing the beauty and strength of which his body is capable. " ~ Socrates