Forums are back in action! ×

The vicious cycle...

Hi there, newbie here. Found this site today through a link from a blog post a friend linked that was on Reddit, which is pretty roundabout I guess. I'm 26 years old, of the vagina-having persuasion, 5'7", and was 290lbs at my fattest. I'm currently 282 and 3 weeks into a gluten-free diet. My cousin is a holistic practitioner, and with her and my GP we found out I had a gluten allergy. I had this rash on my left hand that just would not go away, but it's finally started to dissipate. I had heard of the paleo diet before (the 'caveman' diet), but hadn't really looked into it before today. After spending the better part of the last 4 hours doing some reading on the subject, I have decided that this is the exact kind of change I need.

I'm excited to start because it isn't all that different from what I've already been doing, just to another level.

As a kid, I was very athletic and tomboyish. I loved to play sports, and running was my favourite thing to do (along with gaming, of course). I remember riding my bike all summer long, and swimming with my friends every single weekend at the local leisure centre. I liked to do those things, they made me happy. But then... I was just about to turn 12, it was my first year of junior high school (grade 7). It was a cloudy and kind of crappy September morning, a Monday because Mondays are always the best day. I was walking to school with my 2 girlfriends who lived by me, and we had one last street to cross before getting to school.