Forums are back in action! ×

Becks, Introducing herself

Hi Rebels!

I'm brand new to Nerd Fitness, and finally joined because this challenge just happened to fit perfectly with a personal challenge I started last week.

I was never in either good or bad shape growing up- I hiked, rode horses, sailed, climbed trees, and started jogging a little my senior year of high school. Evening trips to the gym kept me sane between AP classes and (academic) extracurriculars, but also discovered stress/binge eating and put on a significant amount of weight by graduation (#140+). At the beginning of the summer after high school, I went to the library to get a book on running because I wanted to boost my range a little. As I checked out, my librarian told me "you could run a marathon. I used to run marathons, even won one in Hawai'i. You could do it!" I put myself on a 16 week training  plan, managed to blow out my IT band a few months into my first semester, but got back on track and finished the marathon the next summer. I lost my senior year fat during the first year in college, but throughout the summer was also dealing with a combination of eating disorders. 

The next school year I was climbing, eating well, running, and took a weightlifting PE class. It was great! I transferred schools my junior year and helped a buddy train for a marathon in addition to continuing to climb. I also managed to trim every ounce of fat off my body. At Thanksgiving my junior year, I measured myself at a scarily-thin 116 lbs. Senior year the stress piled on again, as did the pounds, but they came back off when I moved to Austria for 6 months. Joy! Weight when I moved back to the States: #122, walking-fit from backpacking around Europe!