Forums are back in action! ×

Well, I suppose I ought to introduce myself and tell you a little about me. I'm a writer, primarily, and do a fair amount of theatre stuff as well. I suppose that makes me a writer/bard. Currently, I'm working as a stage manager for a group of playwrights (which is something like herding cats if cats could talk and make rude comments). I'm also looking into graduate schools since I just graduated from college last May. I'm taking a gap year to write and generally get my life together.

But that's scarcely enough information for a good story. You're going to need some background. If you want to skip the backstory, much like you'd skip the introduction to a novel (a crime I certainly am guilty of more often than not), I'd suggest skimming down and looking for the words "hero journey."

I am currently 220 lbs and 5"1'. I've already done one weight loss journey. When I was a sophomore in high school, I was 200 lbs and I started doing Weight Watchers. By the end of my freshman year of college, I was 130 lbs. Then I started traveling for school. A small stipend to live on and peer pressure helped me gain 20 of those pounds back. Another trip helped me gain another 20. And another. Lastly, emotional abuse on the part of my professors helped me gain the last 30. That and being in a very high pressure environment led me to try to commit suicide last November.

Which brings me to my next bit of background information. I have an anxiety/depression disorder. I've been in and out of therapy for the past 12 years. Currently, I'm in a borderline personality disorder behavioral therapy group, which is odd since I'm not actually borderline. If anything, I'm avoidant. However, certain parties were insistent that I go to behavioral therapy and the borderline group was the closest we could get.