Forums are back in action! ×

A Nerd, most definitely in need of Fitness!

Hi all,

I've read the newsletters for months and working on the ebook as we speak... I was very tempted to sign up for the woman's academy... But I think I need to start here first with all of you.

I admit it, I'm a nerd... I'm 29 years old, an elementary school teacher, I was on Napster when I was 14 as a pirate before pirating really had a name, I am a recovering WoW addict (lvl 70 NE Druid ftw!), and fantasy novel junkie (can anyone say Lewis, Tolkien, Eddings, Feist, Brooks, and Erickson?).

I've been relatively overweight my whole life, but honestly, I think when I was in high school it was really more in my head and my self esteem...and of course society's picture of what a woman should look like...

When I graduated from college and moved in with my (now) husband, and we discovered WoW... I wasted 2 years of my life and gained about 70lbs...and for the last 5 years I've been trying to lose it.

The stress of this extra weight on my body has been my biggest hurdle, I've been diagnosed with sleep disorders, thyroid issues, had blood clots, injured limbs, torn ligaments/surgery on my wrist, and a whole slew of back problems... These aren't excuses, this is my past and present...but now I'm thinking about my future.

I went to physical therapy for my back about a year ago and was inspired by the philosophy of my therapist... Instead of machines and electrodes, his exercises were real-world and easily done at home as well in a gym... That is what seems so alluring about the NF philosophy as well... I don't do gimmicks... I don't do fads or diets, and I don't buy in to those "easy ways to lose 15lbs" nonsense...

I need a workout that will fit into my crazy life, and the support to keep it part of my lifestyle, even when I get discouraged.