Forums are back in action! ×

From Surviving to Thriving

Hi there! I've been lurking around for the last couple days and decided to join in the fun. You all inspire me with what you are doing!

I'm here because its been an unbelievable shitty year and I am exhausted. Physically, emotionally, mentally, spiritually. I have been struggle with various brain cooties and trauma for several years, all of which have collided into a perfect storm this year. I graduated from university, got married, faced infertility, was unemployed for 7 months, totaled my car in a high speed rollover, moved cross-country from everyone that I love for my hubby's job and some other stuff. Some good things, but a lot of change that has left me exhausted and barely surviving day to day life. 

So what brought me here? I'm tired of merely surviving. I want to thrive again, to fight for the life I want.  To feel good about my life, find my hope again, to feel good about my body and soul. I'm currently 25, female, 6'1 and 200lbs, and have lost 20lbs in the last year.

I've been struggling with maintaining a healthy weight over the last couple years. I tend to overeat with emotional stress, but am happy that I've been able to lose 20lbs this year. One of the side effects of my meds that keep the brain cooties at bay is weight gain, so I have to be careful of what I eat. 

I've been slowly working at being more active this year. I love being in the outdoors, and am an avid paddler, skier, hiker and wilderness adventurer. I want to use getting stronger and fitter as a way of healing my body and mind, and continue to enjoying doing things with my body. I've made some decent progress with being gentle with myself in other areas of my life (I can be fairly self critical) and learning to the importance of self care. I would like to get back to the things I used to enjoy, try new sports, become more active and improve my fitness level.