Forums are back in action! ×

It's a bird, it's a mensch, no its...

It's SuperJew!

Ok, so here we are. First, a little bit about me. I'm a 32 year old guy, married, with a 3 1/2 year old daughter. I've been a Soldier in the US Army going on 13 years now (I teach computers & networking to new recruits), but make no mistake about it, I'm out of shape.

About 7 years ago, I started having pain in my knees. I went to the doc and was told I had two options:

1. Go through physical therapy, get painful surgery that probably won't work, then deal with the pain for the rest of my life.

2. Deal with the pain for the rest of my life.

I took option 2, the easy way sure thing. They wrote me a script excusing me from having to run again, ever, and I let myself get lazy. Two combat tour, 6 years, and 45 pounds later, I still don't run. Honestly, I've probably used my bad knees as an excuse on occasion when I shouldn't have. I've gained weight and let myself get weak. My Soldiers and peers notice my weight, and that I don't conduct physical training with them. The Army doesn't really know what to do with injured Soldiers. While other conduct physical training, I (and other like me) are told to "just walk around the track for an hour". An easy cop out, but not something that will get me in shape. I'm now at risk of losing my rank and even discharge from the Army.

Three months ago, my wife had bariatric surgery, and has since lost 40 pounds. She has been asking me to go to the gym with her and get fit, and I've basically shrugged her off. Now is the time for action. I need to get in shape not only for me, but to set a good example for my daughter.