Forums are back in action! ×

Hi everyone. It's been a long time since I've done something like this (been part of forums, had time for anything nerdy, really have time for anything other than school....).

A bit about myself:

I'm a PhD student studying paleoanthropology and archaeology. I'm also married with an 11-year-old daughter, which means I have no time for anything most days. I love what I do, but I definitely feel like I've lost a bit of myself along the way, and I'm trying to find it again. There are so many things I want to do, but definitely no time to do them in. My fitness interests range from running, hiking, rock climbing, and moderate weight training to yoga, ballet, Tai chi, and belly dance. Other personal interests include prehistoric technology (a holdover from my area of study), meditation, reading things other than journal articles, and role playing (though I haven't done tabletop or LARP in years). My relatively sedentary lifestyle as an early-stage grad student also means that my current shape is round-ish, a fact that vexes me greatly. I have an easy time moving mountains for intellectual pursuits, but have absolute hell keeping myself motivated to keep in shape. With as focused as I've been on my research, I also am having a difficult time narrowing down my broad range of interests to specific areas of focus, which has amplified the already existing fitness issues I was having.