Forums are back in action! ×

Please don't let me drop the hydrochloric acid

Hello! Clearly, I'm new here. I'm currently a graduate student in a PhD program for physical chemistry. I live in the middle of the country, having been transplanted from California (born and raised) for undergrad and now graduate school.

I just started trying to get into shape. During undergrad, I probably put on 30 lbs due to bad diet and lack of exercise. I prioritized my extra-curricular activities, work, and getting a dual degree over a healthy lifestyle. I don't necessarily regret it now, but I want to rearrange my priorities for grad school. I already have the time management skills down, so I just need the motivation.

So far I've completed three weeks of Couch to 5k and will be starting week 4 tomorrow. I woke up one day and just decided to do it, which is way different than the "I want to..." thoughts I've had before when trying to get in shape. I've also been researching strength training to do along with it, which is how I came across Nerd Fitness. In addition to preventing injury when running, I want to get stronger so I can carry all of the things I need to while doing research and while teaching the two general chemistry labs I'm instructing. The other day I was trying to refill the student bottle of hydrochloric acid and my arms started shaking about half-way through. Full refill bottles are maybe fifteen pounds and holding them parallel to my shoulder like I have to for refills has been difficult. I really would rather not drop concentrated strong acid on myself, so this is actually maybe more important than running, which I really like. No one ever thinks of the heavy things one has to move while being a chemist, ha.

Anyway, these are some of my goals:

1) Complete Couch to 5k

2) Run the 5k I've signed up for in April without walking (!)

3) Strength train at least two times a week with the beginner body weight work-out from NF