Forums are back in action! ×

Getting stronger for circus

Hey everyone,

I'm a freelancer with a toddler, and I started taking circus aerials classes as a way to get back in shape after my daughter was born. I do mostly silks and static trapeze, but as I get stronger I'd like to do more rope. And maybe flying trapeze on a good day.

At the beginning of the year I was pretty depressed due to back to back miscarriages, and ate/drank most of my feelings. I gained 10 lbs in two months. After looking at photos from a family trip I knew I needed to focus if I wanted to get back on track, so I signed up for the may recitals at circus school. I've got to hold myself in the air and flip around for 5 minutes straight! I started cooking more, and lifting weights. Since the end of January I've lost more than 10 lbs, and my body fat has gone from 34% to 28%*.

Now that I'm starting to develop real strength I'm excited and love lifting weights. Getting strong has made aerials so much easier (still working on that stamina though) and I've started appreciating my body for what it can do, not just how it looks. 

I joined NerdFitness because it seems like a more welcoming community than most other strength training forums (do you even lift?). Hi!

Here's a gif of me doing a dive:

AirplaneDiveSmall.gif

* I use a body fat scale which isn't super accurate, and I think it may estimate high, but the change over time is real

• Like 3

Main Quest: Run 8 miles

Longest run so far: 6.22 @ 11:27

77%
77%

6 Week Challenge (Level 2) Kellbot's Going the Distance

Previous Challenge (Level 1) Aerial silks training and questing for 10 pull ups

Do you even lift? How lifting weights taught me to love my body

That is so completely awesome!  That's got to be the best way I have ever heard to get fit.  I bet it's a blast being up there doing that.