Forums are back in action! ×

New to Nerd Fitness! Also a compulsive eater.

Hi everyone! I am quite new here! Although I signed up over a year ago I think, I never actually made it on to the forums, or even used any of the advice for that matter. But it doesn't matter, because its always better to start late rather than never.

My name is Melissa, I am in my mid-twenties, attending university for archaeology. Before this I was a video editor for almost two years, but that ended about a year ago when the company lost a ton of funding. I love reading fantasy and adventure novels, and obviously I spend a lot of my time studying at the moment.

The reason I joined (or rather the reason I re-joined) is because when I was working a regular job from monday to friday, I was going to the gym in the evenings and running on the weekends, but when I lost my job I went through a depressing time when I couldn't figure out what to do with my life. So with all the stress I and money pressure I had to quit the gym, and instead I turned to eating. Eating has been the biggest set-back for me, I feel like I have no control over it when I get in front of something greasy and salty. I moved back home to go to school, and my mother and her boyfriend do not understand how the way they eat and the food that they keep in the house affects me. This is by no means an excuse, I need to learn how to control myself, but I do wish they would at least try and help. Food is my biggest struggle at the moment. 

But aside from that I really enjoy running, and I have set a goal for myself to run a half marathon in October. I can't wait to get more prepared for that! I have no trouble exercising when I get in to it, which I have already started. My struggle is with food.

Anyways it's great to be here! If you have fitbit and would like to add me, please feel free! I need some friends both here and there for support :) //www.fitbit.com/user/35DPM5

Cheers!

Melissa 

• Like 1

Melissa