Forums are back in action! ×

How much is too much?

At the gym today I watched a client with his trainer. The client was groaning with every rep - the weights were heavy, the exercises looked tough, and he was really giving it a good ol' roar or moan of despair, every move performed very slowly, every rep seemed like the absolute max of his power. It didn't look fun and it didn't look comfortable. I'm sure he was quite happy and possibly just a vocal sort of chap, maybe a bit overdramatic, and he did lower the weights on a couple of sets, but it did get me thinking.

I mean, is that where strength training has to go? Right now I'm still a beginner, lifting weights that challenge me but don't make me roar across the gym, and I stall by putting them on the floor and marking an X on my notepad, not howling like a Hulk and dropping them. I appreciate things are going to get harder, but might it get so hard that workouts become unpleasant? Does training become something you like the effects of - the weight loss, the rippling abs - but the actual process of working out is perhaps a thing of dread, or something you have to endure for the end result?

I enjoy it right now, even when I find things tough (as much as a 42kg squat can be considered 'tough') and I want to keep enjoying it. I wouldn't like to think that after a certain weight is surpassed, it's no longer a taxing challenge and something done for pleasure but a gauntlet of discomfort performed for the sake of a goal.

What do you think?

warrior : level 8

str: 20.75 | dex: 13.75 | sta: 11.75 | con: 9.75 | wis: 8.25 | cha: 4.75

''Difficult' and 'impossible' are cousins often mistaken for one another, with very little in common' - Locke Lamora