Forums are back in action! ×

Game of Thrones or Lord of the Rings

I am working a job this summer that will entail a lot of driving. I got a subscription to Audible where I get one credit each month and was going to listen to books on my commute(since there's not a nerd fitness podcast, and I'm tired of morning talk radio).

So my question is do I start with Lord of the Rings series, or Game of Thrones. I've never read either, and I haven't seen either of the two movies/TV shows.

Suggestions please.

KB4RN3S the level 2 Wood elf, Ranger 
STR 2|DEX 1|CON 3|STA 2|WIS 2|CHA 0
Current challenge

"Mental toughness is to physical as four is to one."

~Bobby Knight~

"The only way of finding the limits of the possible is by going beyond them into the impossible."

~Arthur C. Clarke~ 

That's kind of what I was thinking. How can I call myself a nerd and have not read/seen Lord of the Rings. Thanks.

• Like 1

Current challenge

~Bobby Knight~

"The only way of finding the limits of the possible is by going beyond them into the impossible."

~Arthur C. Clarke~ 

Also LOTR.  Having read LOTR multiple times and suffered through the first 2 GoT books, I'd say start with LOTR for sure.  Hobbit can be a good place to start, but you can also definitely start with Fellowship and that book will be a much longer audio version than Hobbit will.

"Fairy tales are more than true not because they tell us dragons exist, but because they tell us dragons can be beaten"  -Neil Gaiman

Mandalorian Assassin: Level 5

Current Challenge - Artemis becomes Mandalorian

Overall Weight Loss Journey: Starting Weight -     Current Weight -    Goal -160lbs

Also LOTR.  Having read LOTR multiple times and suffered through the first 2 GoT books, I'd say start with LOTR for sure.  Hobbit can be a good place to start, but you can also definitely start with Fellowship and that book will be a much longer audio version than Hobbit will.

^This

LOTR voter for me, too.