Forums are back in action! ×

Struggling to get off the ground...

I'm not very good at getting into habits, and this is proving to be just like every other time.  I've been overdoing it at the beginning of the week so that by Thursday I'm exhausted, and I'm devoting the mental energy to fitness so I don't have enough spoons to focus on regulating my eating (I'm a bit disordered on that front).  Habits have never been my thing.

But I guess I've stuck my toe in the water.  I've found my current level and I know where I want to get to.  I've been using Habitica for a while but having nagged a couple of D&D friends into joining it and forming a party, the guilt of letting them down gives me a little extra zing of motivation.  So it's been a month and I've not come crashing to a halt.  Not yet, anyway.  I guess I just keep going and at some point the habit clicks into place.

• Like 2

Wow!  You've been at it a month?  That's longer than I've been able to stick to a thing, so congrats.  Since you've got limited spoons, I'd say your natural inclination to focus on one goal at a time is the right approach.  Do your fitness thing without worrying too much about eating right now!  Maybe scale back the fitness routine a bit too, just to make sure you aren't stressing yourself out too much by the end of the week.  Even small changes are better than no change at all (I tell myself, sometimes futilely) and they tend to stick around on their own better.

But it sounds like you're not just off the ground, you're making progress!  We're rooting for you!

giphy.gif

• Like 4

~*****~ Food Log ~*****~ Battle Log ~*****~ Current Challenge~*****~

^ What Emi said. ;)