Forums are back in action! ×

A brief intro to info on my art, Swords

Michael_Blacksmith

Fellow Rebels, I was asked in my intro thread to share some of my work, and I think the Pub would be a fitting place to do just that! 

I have been studying blacksmithing in general for about 7-8 years, and about 4 years ago I took the plunge and opened up my own shop and decided to focus on making pattern welded steel, and the art from of working with swords. I have travels to museums and got to handle and document original swords, and have spend countless hours studying what makes a sword a sword verses a sword like object. 

If there is interest for me to geek out and really dive into it but I think for starters it would be nice to show the eye candy and take things from there. (Not to mention I forgot to grab my charger and am almost out of charge on the laptop!

Without further delay!

Here is a dagger I put together

100_4130_zps4339324b.jpg

Here is an Italian Cinquedea

000_0176_zps8174f7be.jpg

And of course, who doesn't like a group shot!

DSCN16911.jpg

Pattern welding, ya I do that

oa_zps5406c941.jpg

hilt4_zps8fc9d670.jpg

Pattern welded inlay, yup, do that too!

DSCN1613_zps2bd8dfd7.jpg

DSCN1618_zpsfeef91f5.jpg

I'll post a few more in a bit!

Race - Elf                                                STR - 3                    DEX - 2

Class - Ranger                                        STA - 3                    CON - 2

Level - 0                                                  WIS - 3                    CHA - 2

Now, when you are a swordsmith sometimes you are asked to makes spears as well. Here are two that I think turned out excellent!

H3_zps1612d3f6.jpg

100_3982_zpsd8b12eb8.jpg

DSCN1110_zps970b651d.jpg

DSCN1104_zpsb24e5298.jpg

And sometimes there are fun pieces with all the right curves in all the right places and the proportions just fit

DSCN1249_zpsdc60cd13.jpg

Sometimes big swords are nice

DSCN1726_zps44d11227.jpg