Forums are back in action! ×

Too pleased to be here

Sup rebels!

My name is Evan. I am a musician living in Philadelphia, PA.

I endured a harrowing health-scare this spring, and dropped thirty five pounds in three months thusly making me 195. I have since gained a lot of that back, which I reckon is a healthy thing for a body to do.

I found, though, that I really appreciated having a less cumbersome vessel. Not to mention the unprecedented attention I've gotten from prospective partners. Some of whom have become actualized partners!

So where to start...

I would LOVE to be a very capable, smaller person. I'm 28 years old. I've always been out of shape, but I've been very overweight since I was about eighteen years old. I topped out around 250 around the age of 21. I'm 5'11". I've been (very slowly) losing weight since. Five step forwards, four steps back, dontchyaknow.

I am a professional musician. I've found that by not having a balanced muscle system, I've developed some curious injuries. It seems the muscles in my back are all out of wack and asymetrically-developed from playing guitar and bass. I can feel things shifting in my back regularly, and I also have intermittent trouble with my shoulders, neck, elbows, and most commonly, wrists. I feel somewhat confident that developing the muscles around these joints will be beneficial to my playing.

I have a couple issues which cause me concern when working out. Firstly, my left arm comes about 30 degrees shy of straightening out due to having broken the elbow a couple times (I went through a klutzy few years). Secondly, my knees make an awful lot of crunching noises when I do squats. Sometimes they like to give way when I'm climbing steps. It used to be much worse. I'm hoping that squats will help, but I fear that they will worsen the situation.