Forums are back in action! ×

Hello all!

I am brand new to Nerd Fitness, and very excited to get started!  I'm interested in general health improvement, some weight loss, and some strength training.  I know enough about myself to realize that I need some structure to make any kind of significant changes in my life.  Plus I'm a DM and a gamer that has zero interest in joining a gym, so what Nerd Fitness has to offer seemed like exactly the right kind of fit.  I'm also a Type 1 diabetic, and I'm hoping that there might be some other T1D rebels out there that I can connect with.

I'm already plugging away at some of the Nerd Fitness Academy quests, and one of them is to share my "big why", and this seems like a great place to do it, so here it is:

I want to be healthier, fitter, and stronger so that I can watch my son grow up.  So I can be a grandpa.  So I can grow old with my wife.  I have Type 1 Diabetes and a family history of cardiac illness, and I need to take much better care of myself than I am currently so that I can live a long, healthy, fruitful life with my family.

Thanks for reading, and I look forward to getting to know this community!

• Like 3

Welcome to the Rebellion! You are in the right place to start if you want to start getting fitter and healthier! Wanting to live a good long life so that you can watch your family grow up are noble goals!

I've you've not done so already have a poke around the guilds and see if you can find a group that you'll feel at home with. We are currently in the middle of a challenge cycle but the 4 week challenges are a great way to start making small, sustainable steps towards your goals! And nothing is so ridged to say that you couldn't start one right now.

Most importantly, have fun with your fitness journey and don't be afraid to ask for any help or advice!

strava - myfitnesspal - Instagram

2019 Roadmap

Spoiler

" Always aim for something stupidly crazy." - Charlie Quinn