Forums are back in action! ×

"We are not gonna die. You know why? Because we are so... very... pretty. We are just too pretty for God to let us die." Malcom Reynolds

Firefly quotes are always the best way to start conversations. Until 6 months ago I worked as a probation officer(terrible job but great stories). Currently, I am a stay at home mum and loving it. I am grateful the Rebellion does not care where I came from because it involved lots of fails and wussing out on anything physically difficult. It has taken me a long time to find a reason to change, to discover that moment when it clicked.

Strangely, it started with my father 2 months ago. I was visiting my parents and my dad(who I respect more than just about anybody) kept prattling on about some Couch to 5k program he was running. I thought "if he can do it so can I". So I get home and start running the program on my elliptical(which until recently had primarily served as a jungle gym for my 2 year old).

Imagine my surprise when I stuck to it, don't skip any runs, and didn't wuss out. I realized when I had a written workout with objectives I was WAY better at sticking to it. I then decided I needed to build some lean muscle but I had no work out equipment and could not afford a gym membership. I was also hedging my bets see cause I didnt want to spend lots of money to end up once again lazy and procrastinating. I decided I better prove I had some stickwithitness first. I ran across Steve's Body weight exercise for Beginners and decided it was just right for me. I tried it out for the first time last Thursday. I got through 2.5 circuits before jacking up my knee a bit due to poor form. For the next 3 days my thighs hurt so bad I considered cutting them off and donating them to charity.