Forums are back in action! ×

Another Dwarf Ranger

I've been an on and off lurker here, but I'm getting more interested in pursuing the challenges here. I jumped on the last one late, but better late than never, right? I figured I should file an intro before the next one.

I'm 31, married with a two young daughters. We live in Cecil County, MD which is between Baltimore and the Delaware border. I'm an Electrical Engineer who specializes in RF/Microwave Engineering and Antenna Design. I'm a big football fan and a casual rugby fan. I follow the NY Jets and Super Rugby.

I had played rugby at a Division 1 level since senior year of high school (West End in VA) through all of college (RPI in NY and George Mason in VA) and most of my time in Massachusetts (South Shore Anchors) until 2010 when I moved to MD. My favorite position is wing, because I can see the field, run in space, and make plays in the kicking game. Fullback and flyhalf are fun, too, but I am usually not the best choice for those spots due to my size. Scrumhalf is the position I started the game playing. I love running with the big guys and will jump in if needed, but as I get older, my body just can't take the pounding the position requires.

In Febuary, I started a workout routine to get me back into shape to play rugby by August. I've reached all my initial goals and proceeded to my level two goals which I am nearing. I do not have trouble getting to the gym or working out at home, though I loathe running for conditioning.

My biggest issue with fitness is food. I love chips, Dr Pepper, cheese, pepperoni, and a plethora of other unhealthy foods. I really don't like most fruits and vegetables, so I'm limited in what I can eat healthy and not get bored of it. I've attempted to expand my pallette, but so many fruits just have a disgusting texture or flavor. Vegetables are easier to handle as they usually don't have overpowering flavors or gross texture, but it is still a struggle.