Forums are back in action! ×

newbie here! excited for a change.

Hey everyone... I'm 32 married with no kids and have struggled for years to lose weight by doing everything "right" only to keep gaining. I have PCOS and recently learned about insulin resistance and have been researching the effect of carbs and processed foods on my body. Now I have an answer as to why, despite a steady workout plan and eating in all the "right" ranges, I was unable to lose weight. I'm starting to eat more paleo/primal and am feeling so much better.

I could probably stand to lose about 50 pounds, but I mostly just want to feel strong and healthy!

One confession... I have the palette of a 5 year old and HATE the majority of veggies out there. I am always looking for a way to make veggies tasty and get more into my diet without miserably choking them down.

Adventurer

STR 2 DEX 2 STA 2 CON 2 WIS 4 CHA 3

Welcome, sarcasticgirl! Yeah, going the more primal route does wonders for feeling better. I understand the whole icky veggies thing - for years the only way I would eat them was with spray butter and cheese on them. Or season salt, if we didn't have cheese (or if you're trying to avoid it, like most doing paleo). You can also puree them into other things and not taste them at all, although I haven't done anything like that in years...anyway, hope you find some tasty veggie variations :) Best of luck to you!

One day, your heart will stop beating, and none of your fears will matter.  What will matter is how you lived.

-Henri Junttila

My current challenge

One confession... I have the palette of a 5 year old and HATE the majority of veggies out there. I am always looking for a way to make veggies tasty and get more into my diet without miserably choking them down.

Bacon is, as always, the answer to your problem. Throw a slice of bacon in with some greens and they are instantly better.