Forums are back in action! ×

Hi! Another Newb here

Hi Everyone!

I'm a college student, trying to get in shape. I was born in S. Korea and was never in a great shape in my whole life. When I moved to the US, I packed on about 40lbs over the course of 5 years with all the food and less walking/moving. Then one day, I got sick of myself always lacking energy and being tired. I recently saw the first real result on weight loss(dropped a size) by eating as Paleo as I could in a dorm for a couple months. Then the finals and all the graduation party for my brother hit me and I sliped back down to my old eating habits.....

My biggest challenge is going to that free weight section by myself where big, buff guys live (I'm a relatively small girl). I don't feel like I belong there! Another challenge is that I'm moving out to a house this summer which means I'll have to learn how to feed myself. I don't classify myself as the worst cook since I know how to make simple dishes from scratch other than heating up can food and cooking pasta, but cooking and baking for me was always a leisurely activity not a thing I do to survive.

My current goal is to regularly exercise rigorously. I practice TaeKwonDo at school but the routines we do is not as intense as I want it to be (Many times I don't break a sweat after an hour). I want to start on C25K and weight lifting, but I'm not sure which one to tackle first. A bigger goal of mine is to be able to do a pull up and running a 5K race!

I'm hoping to acquire some tips on exercising and get to know people who are excited about getting in shape!

Hi, and let me be the first to welcome you to the rebel army.

Have faith in yourself when you move out you age in charge and it is your choice.