Forums are back in action! ×

Care for a jelly baby? No?

Hi, I'm very new but have been reading and really loving the site. I'm a designer with an over active imagination. I'm getting older, 38, but when I take my kids through the woods I always make up stories about the hobgoblins who live under the log or having to cross the accursed stream infested by blood sucking nymphs, they get a lot out of a hike! I still wear my Doc's with my Atari t-shirt. When my friends started saying I was showing my age finally and looking um' matronly -- what me? Matronly? Argh! I was always skinny as a rail and played the cleric in AD&D (the boys always made me because they needed a healer in the group, I actually wanted to be an elf ranger...) I'm now a size 14. I want to lose weight primarily so I can run better. I LOVE running. I am an impatient person and getting from point A to point B quickly and on my own feet is a good thing, and running through the forest behind my house: Win.

I hope to learn from this site:

a.) how not to injure myself. My day job is potato driven design with retro game covers and right now just posters that I have to upscale which is difficult.

I read on here how once a day extreme exercise with nothing else is a recipe for pain. I've seen that in the gym over and over again. For me to hurt my running legs would be a nightmare, but it's a trail I'm on the way I work out currently. I have no idea how to use body resistance and a torn muscle from last year has left lifting a painful undertaking. (Too much weight in the gym + wrong machine for my body = torn muscle for life.)

b.) how to help my always hungry self to stop eating so much

c.) how to handle bullies and criticism because as a designer I tend to break down in tears when someone posts a bad review of my work. And there are people who don't hold back.

What I'm doing: