Forums are back in action! ×

New to weight lifting

Hi there, I'm new to weight lifting. Thought I would join because I am asking too many weight lifting questions on Mark's Daily Apple. I'm female, 47, 5'3" and around 133lbs. I've been lifting for 2 weeks now. I have quite a ways to go. Gotta start somewhere.

I'm female, 47, 5'3", 135lbs.sbhikes, level 1 Gnome adventurerSTR 1|DEX 1|STA 5|CON 3|WIS 3|CHA 2(according to this, not that I truly understand what that means)

I got a program from a personal trainer. I work at a university and hired one of their trainers. She made up a list of things for me to work on to build core strength plus showed me how to lift weights with the barbells. So I have a list of bigger lifts and lots of auxiliary things:

- Squats

- Single-leg squats

- Military press

- Bench press

- Romainian deadlift

- Dumbbell rows

- Assisted pullup machine

- Cable wood chop low to high

- Bridges and planks

I do these three times a week.

I have a script that I wrote for my computer that pops up once an hour while I am working that tells me to do stuff in my office like pushups or walk up the stairs in the closest tall building or whatever.

I also run two or three times a week very slowly (180-age heart rate) and hike (1500+ elevation gain) on the weekends. Sometimes I ride my bike. Sometimes I just take a walk.

P.S. I looked at all that role-playing stuff. I think I'm too old to understand it. I have never played a video game after they got more complicated than pong.

I'm female, 47, 5'3", 135lbs.sbhikes, level 1 Gnome adventurerSTR 1|DEX 1|STA 5|CON 3|WIS 3|CHA 2(according to this, not that I truly understand what that means)

Those are great workouts. But if I may just point out, i think it would be better if you would just do negatives on doing pullups. It will truly help you doing full pullups in no time.