Forums are back in action! ×

Regenerating, Timelord Style

Okay. Here goes nothing.

I'm a twenty-year-old college student who collects diagnoses the way some people collect postage stamps. The illnesses, meds, and doctors really complicate my life, and I'm tired of it. I know that, if I could just be a little less sedentary and a little more fit, a lot of my problems, if not all of them, could be resolved. I could give all kinds of reasons for why I've been so sedentary for my entire life, but I'm tired of using diagnoses as excuses, and everyone else is tired of hearing it.

The problem is that I have no idea where to start. I'm severely underweight, and I struggle with even the simplest forms of exercise. Gyms stress me out for multiple reasons, and I can't really go anywhere because I have neither a car nor a driver's license (I know that's kinda pathetic) and because the public transportation system where I live is simply awful. I need to work on all areas of my physical fitness, but I need to be able to do so at or within walking distance of my house. I'd really appreciate some help figuring out a workout plan or something. I'm completely lost.

Of course, I haven't forgotten about diet. I eat very poorly, for two reasons: First, I can't cook, and junk food is the most readily available when I'm responsible for my own meals. Second, it's difficult to find nutritious foods I can eat because I'm very sensitive to certain flavors and textures, so, when I physically can't tolerate the meal the rest of the family is eating, I put something far less nutritious in the microwave or toaster (because I don't know how to make "real" food). My poor diet is obviously not helping my health issues, so I could use some suggestions for very simple but nutritious recipes, or at least places to find such recipes.