Forums are back in action! ×

A librarian joins the rebellion!

Hi everybody! I've been an on and off NF lurker for over a year now and have finally decided to take the plunge. I will be participating in the next upcoming challenge. Super jazzed!

About me:

I'm a 30 year old librarian (teen services! woot!) in British Columbia, Canada. I'm 5'4" and 135 lbs. I have always been more on the thin side because I had a killer metabolism growing up. I enjoyed being outdoors and being active... riding my bike, camping, fishing, playing in the yard with the dog, walking, etc, but I was never sporty and never really dug on sports. Fast forward a few years through a bachelor's degree in English and master's in Library and Info Science, and here I am! I've dabbled with a whole bunch of activities from a walk/run program, yoga, swimming, roller derby, ballroom dancing classes, etc, but haven't really found anything that really spoke to me (well, other than dancing. I LOVED dancing! ... but the class structure was awkward). I'm deathly afraid of gyms and machines and have never set foot in a weight room or whatever those rooms are called with the machine thingies. That, and the idea of gym change rooms terrify me. :)

Anyway, my usual routine of being moderately active and eating everything in moderation always worked for me because of my metabolism. However, the bod's getting older and I've started noticing that a few pounds have been stacking on and are slower to burn away with my usual routine. The reason I'm here is because I want to make regular and mindful exercise a part of my life now while I still have a fairly active metabolism. I want this to be more of a preventative lifestyle change because I'm afraid if I don't start now, one day I'll wake up without my metabolism and look at a very different version of myself than what I am now. I hope that makes sense.