Forums are back in action! ×

Hey Nerds,

I first discovered NerdFitness.com last summer when I was browsing the Internet for parkour resources and I stumbled upon The Definitive Guide to Parkour for Beginners. I thought it was a fascinating post, one that perfectly outlined the steps that a beginning traceur would need to take in order to effectively build the skills required for parkour. I haven't actually started, but that's why I'm here. Not necessarily just to find motivation for parkour, but for all of my fitness and lifehacking goals. I've made a few posts here and there since signing up, but this is my official introduction, my rebel yell, if you will.

Where to begin: My name is Ashish. I'm a 32 year old nerd. I work as a research technician for a chemical fuels startup in San Francisco. I'm currently working towards completing my degree in Forensic Science at SJSU. My nerdy interests are too numerous to list, so I'll just let them trickle out through future posts. My ultimate life goal is to become a writer and filmmaker. You might wonder what I'm doing studying and working in science since my goals are so far removed those two things. Well, like I said, that's why I'm here.

I had a revelation last week while playing through God of War: Ascension. I wasn't having fun with it. As I began what must have been my tenth attempt at The Trial of Archimedes chapter, I put the controller down, coaxed the dog out from under the bed (he hides when I start getting upset and yelling at the TV) and said to myself: "why am I doing this? I've spent 2 hours trying to accomplish something that I don't enjoy and will ultimately have no effect on my life." I could have spent that time doing something I enjoy or something that will build my life's XP. It was then that I sat down and did some thinking about the things I want to accomplish in life and how I can go about accomplishing them. Guess what, a high PSN trophy count was not on that list.