Forums are back in action! ×

Um. Hi?

Hey Rebels,

My name is Lia and I'm a 19-year-old college student.  I'm also horribly shy and awkward, but I'm working on that.

A couple of months ago I decided that I was ready to quit being the chubby, klutzy kid I've always been and start working towards becoming someone I can actually be proud of.  I then sat back and laughed, because seriously, how does a chick who gets nervous at the thought of even walking past the gym have a chance at getting in shape?  I started out slowly, convincing my (much fitter) sister to teach me bodyweight exercises I could do in my dorm room.  Then I made a commitment to stop taking the bus, thus adding 3-5 miles of walking or biking every day.  I even started running a few weeks ago, something I never thought I'd try but actually almost enjoy.

Now that I've gotten past the basics, I'm ready to branch out and try new types of exercise until I find something that's a good fit for me.  I'm also looking to revamp my diet: I've been a vegetarian for nearly seven years and can't eat most dairy products or eggs because of food sensitivities, but that hasn't stopped me from eating junk for far too long.  And, finally, I'm ready to start connecting with other people who are on the same journey as me, because this just isn't going to be any fun if I don't have someone to whom I can brag.

So, uh, hi.

Welcome to Nerd Fitness!

I am also shy and awkward around stranger, and then once I start talking I can't for the life of me shut up! I to am working on that.

Good for you! Transforming yourself from the kid people knew into the woman they won't recognize. And your blessed to have a sister who can help you, my sisters are lazy and can't do a single pushup to save their lives. Nice job with the bus, it's the little things that lead to MUCH bigger results.