Forums are back in action! ×

Greetings, Earthlings

Hello everyone,

I've been lurking here for a week or so and seeing the regular 6-week challenges that sound like fun convinced me to finally sign up. Guess it's time to tell my story- I've learned that having others out there aware of what you're doing and holding you accountable can be a great motivator.

About me- I'm a helicopter pilot in the US Army, currently in my 3rd year of a desk job not near any helicopters. As a consequence, I had let my weight creep up about 20 pounds in the first two years and I was generally not at the top of my game physically. About a year ago, I got motivated to sign up for a half marathon and trained for months, losing 30 pounds along the way to the November race. I also credit diet, cutting out soda, and a (not that great but a little effective) strength training toward that result.

I lost another 10 pounds between November and March by setting a goal to run my first full marathon, and in under 4 hours, in March. Broadcasting my intentions and training progress to my family held me accountable and on track, and it was probably the biggest contributor to my success. However, in the last three months of marathon training my gym closed for renovations and I did no exercise other than running. Proud to say I did it- never felt so awful and so good simultaneously before.

Since then, I've fallen into the trap of not having a goal to work towards, not keeping it fun, and I just kind of aimlessly ran and pushed some weights around in the gym. I've even gained back ten of those pounds in two months too (though I'm still ahead!).