Forums are back in action! ×

You can only eat so much

Hi there, I am new to this forum! I am from the Netherlands but spent the better half of the last 2 - 3 years abroad (mostly Mexico and the USA). I work as a programmer working for various Dutch clients that don't mind me spending most of my time on the other side of the world as long as I deliver what they want.

I currently weigh 58 kg (128 lbs), 7 kg more than a year I go when I was 51 kg (112 lbs). I am 1.74 m (5'7") so I am underweight. Last year I just tried to eat A LOT more, extra meals, more high calorie foods, lots of nuts, ice cream, shakes, sugar, et cetera. I got sick of eating so much recently and I am now looking for a way too eat (and train) smarter to gain more weight (fat and muscles). Went to nutrionists but they mostly just tell me to eat more, I believe there's another way. I would like to weigh at least 66 kg (145 lbs) so I'll have a healthy BMI of 22.

Edit: saw that some people added a picture, so here we go:

youri.jpg

Currently digging trough the forums looking for similar stories, if you happen to know one I would appreciate it if you post the link here :)

Welcome!

LOL San Bernardino is where I used to live, in fact my family drove down that highway when we went on trips! Brings back good memories. What did you think of California?

You know sugar is just empty calories, maybe you need more fat instead of calories. Like lard, butter, nuts, etc. you know healthy fats that stick to your ribs. Honestly, I don't know anything on weight gain...oh wait, my friend Bones can help! Her goal is to gain weight, she most likely has some really good advice on how to go about it. Give her a PM!