Forums are back in action! ×

The Wrong Kind of Nerd?

Hello and hello!

I’m Brekke (like breakfast), and I’m TOTALLY new to Nerd Fitness, fitness generally, and this kind of nerd-ery. I’m not a gamer, so I’m lost with all this lingo. Eeep! (y’all help me out…)

But, I’m a TOTAL Whovian (srsly – I’m going to see the 50th anniversary episode in 3D!!), and a writer, theater kid (hence the techie), Nerd Fighter (oh the internet), and generally couch potato.

I’ve recently moved to California from the Deep South and decided that with a new chapter of life opening up I wanted to make some life-long changes. Thus, Providence sent me to Nerd Fitness.

I work at a university, so I have access to a pretty kickin’ gym. And I have a student who’s training to be a trainer (great luck, right?). AND I am taking Pilates classes. So, trying to find a nice balance of free weights/stretching & Core/cardio (ugh, I hate cardio). Right now I have a 4 day-a-week plan. And I walk to work (just under 1 mile each way).

Amazingly, before I started weightlifting last week, in 2.5 months (without trying hard) I lost 15 lbs. FTW!

Goals:

I turn 28 at the end of February (where does the time go?) and I’m wanting to get down to what I weighed in high school (that's not the end goal, but it's a good starting place). That’s a 20 lb weight loss (which I don’t expect to happen in 3 months). I’m hoping for 12 lbs of weight loss, and a focus on increased strength and stamina.

I want to be able to do an unassisted pull up (so not happening at the current moment).

I want to be able to bench press the bar, which is 45 lbs (currently doing 20lbs dumbbell presses).

I want to be able to run a mile without any walking (yeah, it’s like run for 3 minutes, walk for 3 minutes right now, ha).

I think these are all achievable goals. I mean, why set yourself up to FAIL? That sucks.

I’m a vegetarian, so if y’all have insights on “clean†eating for those of us who don’t eat animals, let me know! :)