Forums are back in action! ×

Hi everyone, new here

Hey everyone. My name is Christina and I'm very new to Nerd Fitness.

I joined because I needed a new community to help me in my weight loss journey. My journey has been a long one, starting in 2004. I weighed about 215 pounds (I'm roughly 5'3" - on a good day) at my heaviest. I did join a mainstream weight loss group/company (not going to name drop) and lost 40 pounds in about 6 months. However, I've been stuck every since. I've rejoined and quit that group after 9 months with no success (after doing some real world calorie calculations I found I was barely eating 1,000 calories a day). In 2009 I joined and had minor success at a free weight loss website. At that website I was able to lose 20 pounds, but not even a year in I ended up gaining back 25 pounds.

I'm frustrated and ready to transform my life. I am a member of a local gym, but I hardly make it there. Half of the reason is the cold weather the other half is I end up talking myself out of going for some reason or another. I do enjoy working out once there, it's just getting there.

In my free time, I'm either reading, watching TV or at the archery range. One of my goals is to get stronger for archery and possibly move up to a higher draw weight, or at least not be so tired at the end of class. I would also love to start cosplaying, but I have one too many curves for my liking to be comfortable enough to cosplay as some of my favorite superheroes.

Chances are you'll see me lurking more than posting, but I would love to be active in this community. My friends are supportive and read my blog of my journey, but no one is actually active in helping. So here I am, hiding in the shadows, ready and willing to get to where I want to be.

• Like 2

"You won't find your answers by looking to the stars. It's a journey you'll have to take by looking inside yourself. You must write your destiny..." Christopher Reeve as Dr. Virgil Swann

Current challenge