Forums are back in action! ×

Want to start DnD

Our little group of friends is interested in starting to play dungeons and dragons. We've all been thinking it but have never said it. Now the hard part is what do we need to start? We're kinda hoping to play this weekend so looking to buy like tomorrow. Thankfully we have an amazing gaming store in town that will have everything we need but we are totally overwhelmed by all these add ons and options. 

So, what do we need? Any pointers?

Thanks!

Level 2 Sprite

STR - 3.5 : DEX - 2.75 : STA - 3.5 : CON - 6.5 : WIS - 11 : CHA - 4

You are good enough NOW! 

I would encourage you to steer away from 4th Edition, I think it's a pretty terrible failure in gaming. That being said some people love it. I personally prefer the 2nd ed ADnD, almost all the books can be found online for free and I think it's a very solid system. Pathfinder is also a great system though I have little experience with it outside of the initial books. Just take a look around the editions and see what works for you.

With all that out of the way I'd say the bare minimum to start are a set of dice, a Players Handbook, Dungeon Master's Guide and a Monster Manual. I highly recommend adding a map and minis to this as it makes combat so much smoother.

Beyond that you can see by all the books and options that the rabbit hole goes far indeed. If you don't have a setting already in mind I like Forgotten Realms, I've always had a love affair with the setting and its got a very deep background.

Argent, canton gules, chief dexter lion rampant or, armed and pizzled argent langued gules, sinister ramshead gules.

Shotokan Karate, Danzan-Ryu Jiu Jitsu, Fiorie Armizare