Forums are back in action! ×

Hello!

I've loved reading all of the health and fitness tips on this site and, because I'm trying to reform my habits, I thought it would be helpful to get more involved. I'm a college student, and the battle against weight gain is pretty intense at the moment :)

I've been a vegetarian for three years, but I'm considering becoming a vegan because I tend to eat too much dairy (cheese, Gromit?) I may need a bit of help in this department because I have no idea how to ensure that I get enough protein. 

I have been in the habit of running 3-5 miles, 5 days a week but I'm really slow. I want to turn my 10 min/mile into an 8 min/mile. My ultimate goal is to run a marathon. I know that there are many of you out there with a similar goal in mind, so I'm hoping to stay accountable to all of you. I've been erging (indoor rowing) for a bit, but I want to become more proficient at this.

Also, I am trying to lose about 15 pounds. I'm 130 pounds currently, but for a petite lady, my weight needs to be at 115 to be average for my build. The extra weight is being rather stubborn and I'm hoping my transition to a vegan diet will help. I may not be going about this the right way, so I'm hoping to read some tips on this site.

I have a history of disordered eating originating from a time in my life when having enough food wasn't a guarantee . This has caused a lot of depression and anxiety. While I've been through counseling, I'm still trying to work out my relationship with food. If any of you have any experience and/or tips relating to this, they would be much appreciated. 

I'd also love to get involved in weight lifting, but I'm really intimidated by it. Maybe some of you have advice on how to start?