Forums are back in action! ×

Hello!  I am Jen from Canada.  There is snow falling outside my window right now.    I am a Stay At Home mom to three kids, and I recently started homeschooling one of them (another story for another time).  I am a former graduate of Weight Watchers and am an on again/off again runner.  I need help.  I have lost this weight twice before.  Once, after gaining the Freshman 30 in nursing school (oh yeah, I was a Practical Nurse for 10 years) and then again after the birth of my second child.  How do you find the motivation to do it all over again?  I turned 40 this year and I have really noticed how much more my body likes to hold on to the extra weight now than when I was in my late 20s and doing this for the first time.  I am also having trouble finding time to exercise now that I homeschooling.

How am I starting right now?  Tracking food on My Fitness Pal, and I am trying to work in walks again to get my cardio back up to where I might be able to start running again.  I have to be very careful with how hard I push myself with cardio as I have exercise-induced asthma, but I can't use it as an excuse.  My asthma gets better the fitter I get and I know it.  I also need to work on going to bed instead of staying up to eat.