Forums are back in action! ×

Reporting for my first assignment

Hey all!

I'm a software engineer in Chicago and I need to make a significant lifestyle change. I spent the first half of my twenties taking terrible care of my mental and physical health and I'm ready to turn things around. Nerd Fitness came up when I was searching for beginner body weight workouts. I'm excited to be here; I joined the academy last week and I'm working my way through the mindset and nutrition modules. Progress so far:

- I've been keeping track of my food, but I've found that it's really easy to sneak in unhealthy snacks when I'm not paying attention.

- Intentional 10-15 minute walk every night: This has been going well because I started an audiobook that I'm only allowed to listen to when I'm out walking. It's not terribly long, so if you have any recommendations for good books on Audible, I'm all ears!
- I plan on starting the level 1 bodyweight exercises tonight. 

If any other newbies on here are looking for an accountabilibuddy, please get in touch.

Apart from getting my health back in order, I want to further my career as a technical speaker and advocate for women in software. I just gave my first conference talk last month. It went okay, but I'm looking forward to improving my content and delivery with the next talk. If there are other software engineers on here please drop me a line about the things you struggled with and wish you'd had mentorship on when you first started your career! :)

That's all for now. Thanks for having me!

• Like 2

hi

welcome to the rebellion

join the upcoming 4 week challenge 

If you want something, go get it. Period 

Epic Quest                                     Intro post                                    Duolingo

Hi, welcome to the Rebellion! 

If you want to join in with this 4 Week Challenge, you can come join our forums and set up a couple of goals to work towards for the next few weeks. We are over here!