Forums are back in action! ×

Epic Goal Reached; Get into the Art School!

Roselyn

At the age of 23, i stood up to everyone and everything and after a year of hard work i made it into the Art School.

When i was 16 i knew i couldn't live without arts or drawing. I knew i had to do it for the rest of my life. But the society and my family thought it was a foolish dream. I was soon overwhelmed, and chose to obey, studied Landscape Architecture as it was my parents' wish and lived a horrible 5 years while doing it. I always questioned myself and wanted to drop out of the school; everytime i tried, i was getting scolded and pressured, made change my mind. Last year, I graduated and got my Bachelors. It was my chance.

Every great adventure starts with the first step; i found a nice atelier i can work in and a good teacher. Yes, every week we argued with my parents once or twice about the hardships -because we were economically having problems and me studying for 4 more years would be a pressure, but i assured i'll be working part-time at first then be able to get freelance jobs. Still, the fights went on, at a point i had to leave my atelier because we can't afford it. My teacher decided to teach me for free, so i was back on track.

For the last 2 weeks i was moving around the country, having my art school exams. I had my friends' support, my family's as well in a surprising way. Once it was announced that i got into my dream school, they were the happiest.

Now comes the scary part.

For 24 years i lived with my family. And my parents will be out of the town in the process of me moving out. I'm on my own looking for an apartment, get furniture, finding a job. Meanwhile i have paperwork for the school as well. I have limited money. And i'm scared as well.