Forums are back in action! ×

Advice for getting past the psychological hurdles

21katykat01

Hey y'all,

So, I could do with a little help. I've gotten myself into a bit of a rut. I've been in the 140's for like... two years now? Between 142-144 for about 14 months. I really want to work my way down to around 126lbs, but I just can't seem to get past this mental block I've got in my head.

Every time I get to down close to 140, it's like I freak out and self-sabotage. I've spent a lot of time trying to put it together in my head, and I know there are a few contributing factors. When I weighed between 110-130, it was achieved unhealthily, so I think I've established the belief in my head that getting their in a healthy way is implausible, if not impossible. I had a similar block at 160 and 150. I stuck at each of them for about year. I really don't know why that is either though.

I have a lot of tools and knowledge. I know to take measurements (and it's true that I have lost some inches and BF% in the last wee while), and I also know that the scale is not everything, but I'm still a high enough weight where what the scale says is a reasonable indicator of progress. I know how to keep track of what I'm eating and bodyweight exercises (and how to get better at them), but I don't know how to get past this mental block I have.

I suppose I should clarify too - when I say I self-sabotage when I get close to 140, it's not awful, it's maybe like something sugary which I shouldn't ordinarily have. It's not much, but it's enough to pitch me back up to 144.

So, essentially, I'd really appreciate any advice you might have on how to get past this sort of thing. It just seems ridiculous that I seem to bolt every time I see a number!! If you've got past something like this and have any suggestions on how to do it/how you did it, I would really, really appreciate it.

Thank you :) x