Forums are back in action! ×

There and back again… A fat kids tale…

Please excuse the length of this first post, I guess lurking for so long I thought of a lot of stuff I wanted to say…

Hey everyone, My name is Phill. I'm 28, and I live in Atlanta. I currently work as a Systems Engineer and enjoy doing nerdy stuff with my free time.

A quick run down of my stats:

I'm 6 feet and some change, weight 263 as of this morning, and have a body fat percentage of around 40% (assuming the body fat reader on my scale is correct) (33% based on the Us Navy Calculator).

My over all goal is to get down to 10% body fat by my birthday in June of 2013.

Additionally I would like to be able to hit the following strength/fitness goals:

Bench 315

Squat 315

Run a 5K

20 Pulls up

A little bit about my workout habits/lifestyle.

I am actually a fairly active person, Im in the gym about 3-4 times a week. I mostly do weight lifting and have recently started to add running and other cardio to my routine. Over the last 2 years my weight has gone everywhere from a life time high of 298 to 230 last summer.

About my background.

I've pretty much always been a bigger person, and played sports and stuff in high school and college (club). After college when I got a real job I got a lot more sedatery and didn't change my eating habits. My weight shot up to 298 in the spring of 2010. It was at that time I decide I need to make a change and went on a mission to loss weight.

Truth be told 2010 was the first time I came across this site. I was at the time willing to try anything and was researching a lot of different diets. I found the Beginner’s Guide to the Paleo Diet, and even tried it for a week or two. However back then Paleo just seemed too hard, and instead I started a caloric restriction diet. Dropping down to 1500 calories or less a day. I would also fast intermittently.